What is considered western european?

The definition of Western Europe depends on whom you ask. The most popular geography textbook currently lists Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom.