What does the name wilcox mean?

The name is derived from William or Wilhelm. Tracing the origin of the name further, we found the name Wilcox was originally derived from the Germanic elements will, meaning resolve, helm, meaning protection, and cock or cox, an affectionate or diminutive suffix commonly used in ancient times.