What are pencil points made of?

Most pencil cores are made of graphite powder mixed with a clay binder, called a led pencil. Some pencils for drawing have cores of charcoal, and colored pencils have cores of pigment mixed with wax. There are other kinds of pencils with other cores.

---

A Pencil point is made of led.