What's the difference between dietary and soluble fiber?

Dietary fiber is the part of plant-based food that mostly passes through your digestive system without breaking down, or being digested. There are two types of fiber: soluble and insoluble fiber. Soluble fiber dissolves in water, and Insoluble fiber doesn't dissolve in water.