How do i know when my avocado is ready?

If the avocado yields to firm gentle pressure you know it's ripe and ready-to-eat. Ripe, ready to eat avocados may have a darker color but color can vary so it's best to go by feel as well as color. It will feel lightly soft but it will not feel mushy to the touch. Ripe fruit is perfect for that day