How long after a tooth extraction can you use a straw?

After a tooth extraction, it is important to allow blood clot formation of the surgery site. Do not drink with a straw, smoke cigarettes or suck on hard candies for a minimum of three days. This can rupture the blood clot, which can be detrimental to the healing process.