How do you close a champagne bottle?

It is best to use a hermetic stopper cork to seal the Champagne bottle immediately after you open it. These corks are available at most wine or party stores. Another option is to cover the top of the bottle with plastic wrap, and secure the plastic in place with a rubber band. Keep it cold!