What is a. d. mean in years?

A. D. means Anno Domini which, in English, means " In the year of our Lord".

---

A.D. stands for Anno Domini, which is Latin for “year of our Lord,” and it means the number of years since the birth of Jesus Christ.

---

A.D. stands for Anno Domini, which is Latin for “year of our Lord,” and it means the number of years since the birth of Jesus Christ. That was a little more than 2000 years ago, so the date 500 A.D. means 500 years after 2000 years ago, or a little more than 1500 years ago.