How do i make one pot pasta?

In large stockpot over med high heat mix 1lb spaghetti, 12.8oz sliced sausage, 1 onion slices. 3 cups grape tomatoes halved, 2 cups basil, 4 cloves garlic, sliced & 4.5 cups water; add salt & pepper to taste. Boil; reduce heat; simmer uncovered, until pasta cooks, 8-10 minutes. Mix in 1 cup Parmesan