What's the difference between genetic and hereditary?

Genetic traits are result from the actual genetic code in an individual's DNA. A hereditary trait can mean the same thing, but the term can also be a figure of speech referring to learned behavior. If both you and your parents like to read books, you might say you inherited the habit of reading.