Why are islands called keys?

The word key, used for the Florida keys for instance, comes from the Spanish word cayo, meaning a low island or reef of sand or coral. It describes the islands of the Florida Keys, a string of small islets stretching from the mainland about a hundred miles out into the Gulf of Mexico.