What is the significance of victoria day in canada?

Victoria Day is a Canadian federal holiday created in 1845. It celebrates the birthday of Queen Victoria, who was born on May 24, 1819. The holiday is celebrated on the Monday before May 25. It is also known as the unofficial start to summer in Canada. In Quebec it is called National Patriots Day.