What's the difference between a router and a modem?

A modem is simply a device for connecting to a network. The name comes from modulator, demodulator. A router is designed to direct traffic amongst multiple endpoints on a network. Home routers often have features like NAT, allowing multiple devices to share the one public IP assigned to the modem.

---

A Router sends data thru the Internet such as email. A Modem transmit data from one computer to another

---

A modem is what connects you to the internet, usually provided by your Internet Service Provider. A router is what connects your devices to a Wi-Fi network and is plugged into the modem.