Is vegetable oil compostable?

Yes vegetable is compostable, however, it is recommended to compost only small amounts. Reasoning maybe is that decomposer microbes require any form of water to multiply and stay viable active to decompose matter. Microbes cannot survive in oil without water. Oil is slow to decompose by microbes.