Where does the vanilla flavor come from?

Genuine Vanilla extract originally came from pressing the seeds of the pods of a specific Mexican Vanilla orchid, Vanilla planifolia and was the exclusive secret of the inhabitants and later came from a close relative, Vanilla tahitensis as well.