What is the red moon?

A blood moon occurs during a total lunar eclipse, when the the Earth lines up between the Moon and the Sun, and the only sunlight reaching the moon is in the red spectrum that is bent towards the moon by the Earth's atmosphere. The term may also be used during autumn when leaves are turning red.