How are baby chickens born?

To lay a clutch of fertilized eggs, a hen must have first mated with a rooster. ... The hen will then lay this new life form in a comfortable and quiet spot. A hen will generally lay a clutch of approximately 12 eggs, with each egg being laid a day apart.