Why are california rolls called california rolls?

While there are conflicting reports about who created the California roll, a favorite sushi dish today, some people believe that the inventor is Japan’s Hidekazu Tojo, who lived in Canada at the time. They say he named it because it was popular with his California customers because it had avocado.