What started the fires in australia?

This year a natural weather phenomenon known as the Indian Ocean Dipole has meant a hot, dry spell across the country. The more extreme weather patterns and higher temperatures increase the risk of bushfires and allow them to spread faster and wider. Bushfires were caused by lightning and by humans.