What is a nine millimeter gun?

A 9 mm gun is most commonly a pistol (but can be a rifle) that fires a 9 mm bullet. That is, the bullet is 9 millimeters in diameter, or about .38 of an inch. Thus, a 9 mm bullet is the equivalent of a .38 caliber bullet. The length, weight, shape, and metal alloys used in the bullet vary widely.