What is c. h. two o.?

Formaldehyde is a naturally occurring organic compound with the formula CH₂O. It is the simplest of the aldehydes. The common name of this substance comes from its similarity and relation to formic acid. Formaldehyde is an important precursor to many other materials and chemical compounds.