How cold is the bottom of the ocean?

Deep ocean water, below about 200 meters depth, has an average temperature of 4 degrees Celsius, or 39 degrees Fahrenheit.

---

it varies by depth. the surface temp is about 17 Celsius on average, and about 12 Celsius down to the thermocline. roughly 90 percent of the ocean water is below the thermocline and ranges from 0 to 3 Celsius depending on depth.