Who would win a wasp or hornet?

Compared to the average wasp, hornets are even more aggressive when provoked in head-to-head combat. However, a Yellowjacket is a wasp that can both sting and bite -- they will often bite to get a better grip to jab their stinger in. So the Yellowjacket wasp wins it all hands down.