What was the first hurricane?

In 1494, A "violent hurricane" struck Hispaniola near La Isabela. It was the first hurricane in the Atlantic basin observed and reported by Europeans. Observation data for years before 1492 is completely unavailable because most natives of North America lacked written languages to keep records.