What happens to a goldfish when it's kept in the dark?

If your goldfish is kept in the dark at night, you may notice it appears a little paler when you turn on the lights in the morning. Goldfish kept indoors without full-spectrum lighting are also less-brightly colored than fish exposed to natural sunlight or artificial lighting.