Was united states ever at war with france?

Yes, there was an undeclared naval war between the United States and France that lasted between 1798 and 1800, primarily in the Caribbean and off the East Coast.

---

The Quasi-War, which at the time was also known as "The Undeclared War with France," the "Pirate Wars," and the "Half War," was an undeclared naval war between the United States and France. The conflict lasted between 1798 and 1800, and was a formative moment for the United States.