Are lilacs deer resistant?

The Japanese tree lilac as "seldom severely damaged" by deer, the second-highest deer resistant rating goes to the Persian lilac is only "occasionally damaged" by deer. According to the University of Georgia, deer tend to avoid plants with strong aromas, such as lilacs.