What is a shrike?

Shrikes are any of numerous, usually gray or brown oscine birds, family name laniidae, that have a hooked bill, feed off of insects, and often impale their pray on thorns.

---

A carnivorous passerine bird of the family Laniidae. The family is composed of 33 species in four genera. Also known as the "butcher" bird.