Who was the dude based on?

The Dude, the main character in the Coen Bros film, "The Big Lebowski" was inspired by Jeff Dowd & Peter Exline. Dowd, 'the Dude', former member of the Seattle Seven, liked to drink White Russians. Exline, Vietnam vet, lived in a dump of an apartment which had a rug that "tied the room together".