What is albany beef?

Albany beef was a humorous name for sturgeon in the Hudson River Valley area during the latter 18th through the mid-nineteenth centuries. During those times, Sturgeon, prized for caviar, was so plentiful in the Hudson River, and the fish so large, that the locals began referring to it as Albany Beef