How big is a sector?

The size of a sector depends on the context. For example, a sector on a hard disk is 512 bytes, while on a CD or DVD it's 2,048 bytes. In Star Wars, a sector is about 1/1000 of the galaxy. In Star Trek, a sector is about 20ly in diameter. In other science fiction settings it may have no fixed size.