What is a mass ted?

If you mean 'Mast' 'Head', in sailing terms it is the top portion of the vertical member known as a mast that sails are hung from. In publishing terms, a masthead is a banner with the publication's name, such as "The Daily Herald", which may include the names of the publisher, editor, and owners.