Why is it called saran wrap?

The word "Saran" was coined by a combination of John Reilly's wife's and daughter's names, Sarah and Ann Reilly. In 1949, Dow introduced Saran Wrap, a thin, clingy plastic wrap that was sold in rolls and used primarily for wrapping food.