What is a mansfield bar?

A Mansfield bar, also called an underride guard, is a horizontal bar mounted under the back of a tractor-trailer to prevent cars from sliding underneath the trailer in the event of a crash.

---

This steel barrier is known as a Mansfield bar and is designed to keep following vehicles from going under the trailer in the event of a crash.