What does e. g. mean?

E.g. is the abbreviation for the Latin phrase exempli gratia. It translates to "for example" and is used to introduce examples in a sentence. It sometimes is confused with i.e., which is the abbreviation for id est, meaning "that is." I.e. introduces rewording or clarification of an earlier phrase.