What does e. g. mean?

E.g. is the abbreviation for the Latin phrase exempli gratia. It translates to "for example" and is used to introduce examples in a sentence. It sometimes is confused with i.e., which is the abbreviation for id est, meaning "that is." I.e. introduces rewording or clarification of an earlier phrase.

---

E G is the abbreviation for Latin phrase exempli gratia, meaning “for example.” Its used to introduce example(s) of something mentioned previously &can be used interchangeably with for example or such as. Use of e.g. implies that there are other examples not mentioned in the list. Per AJE Scholar