What causes a fib?

According to the Mayo Clinic, afib or atrial fibrillation may have many causes including but not limited to coronary heart disease, heart attack, congenital heart defect, heart valve issues, high blood pressure, lung diseases, physical stress due to surgery or illness, and the use of stimulants.