Why is new york known as the big apple?

The nickname "The Big Apple" originated in the 1920s in reference to the prizes (or "big apples") rewarded at the many racing courses in and around New York City. It wasn't officially adopted as the city's nickname until 1971 as the result of a successful ad campaign intended to attract tourists.