Who was the woman on the original star trek bridge?

Lt. Nyota Uhura was the Communications Officer on the bridge of the fictional starship Enterprise. During the original TV series Star Trek, the part was played by Nichelle Nichols. There were also occasional appearances of the character Yeoman Janice Rand, played by Grace Lee Whitney.