How do you become a five star general?

A four star general, with the approval of the Senate, the president may award the five star rank. No officers have been promoted to the rank since the Korean War. Generals Colin Powell and Norman Schwarzkopf promoted to that rank, but were never confirmed (possibly due to political considerations).