When was the grandfather clock invented?

The first of that style of floor clocks is said to be invented about 1680 by British clockmaker William Clement. However, the term "grandfather" clock originated when a song written in 1876 by Henry Clay Work became popular, in which he sung about his "grandfather's clock."