Is a civet a cat?

Civets aren't really cats, although they are cat-like, and are often referred to as civet cats. They are long-bodied, short-legged carnivores of the family Viverridae. Civets are found in Africa, southern Europe and Asia. They're usually solitary and live in tree hollows.