Are birman cats related to siamese?

Birman and Siamese cats are 2 different breeds. However, modern Birman cats, or those since the 1950s, have some Siamese and Persian cat ancestors. Birmans were almost wiped out, but the last breeding pair in Europe was crossbred with Siamese and Persians 2 rebuild the Birman breed.