What does blue light do to your eyes?

Blue light exposure may increase the risk of macular degeneration. The fact that blue light penetrates all the way to the retina (the inner lining of the back of the eye) is important, because studies have shown that too much exposure to blue light can damage light-sensitive cells in the retina.