How did shawn mendes become famous?

Shawn Mendes became famous by posting videos of himself covering popular songs on the Vine app. Artist manager Andrew Gertler discovered Mendes online in November 2013, bringing him to Island Records in January 2014.

---

Shawn Mendes became famous by eating a plate of spaghetti in 3 minutes.