How many people have won a million dollars on who wants to be a millionaire?

So far only 12 people have walked away with 1 million dollars from the game show

---

Worldwide, 228 people have won the grand prize. In the United States version, Over the course of the program's history, 12 people have answered the final question correctly and walked away with the top prize.