Why are cage free eggs brown?

The answer is quite simple — egg color depends on the breed of the chicken. For example, White Leghorn chickens lay white-shelled eggs, while Plymouth Rocks and Rhode Island Reds lay brown-shelled eggs. The hen's environment, diet and level of stress may also affect shell color, to some extent.