What is the center of a flower called?

The center of a flower contains the pistil and the stamen. The pistil accepts pollen from other flowers when an insect lands on it. The stamens are the filaments that have pollen, which attach to insects and are carried off to other flowers. These are the sexual organs of a flower.

---

The pistil usually is located in the center of the flower and is made up of three parts: the stigma, style, and ovary. The stigma is the sticky knob at the top of the pistil. It is attached to the long, tubelike structure called the style.