Why did nixon resign?

Nixon resigned because Congress had drawn up Articles of Impeachment, charging him with obstruction of justice, abuse of power and contempt of Congress. It was very likely that he was going to lose the vote in Congress and be officially impeached. He resigned on August 9, 1974.

---

Richard Nixon resigned from the presidency on August 9, 1974 as he faced near certain impeachment. President Nixon resigned after an impeachment inquiry showed he had ordered a break-in at the national headquarters of the opposing political party.

---

The short answer is that he resigned because he was about to be impeached, and Barry Goldwater, among others, told him that he didn't have enough votes in the Senate to avoid conviction.