What is a stick of butter?

US butter is sold in 1/2 or 1 pound packages and divided into "sticks". Each stick weighs 1/4 pound/4 ounces/110g. One stick also contains 8 tablespoons and for convenience the packaging is marked with the tablespoon measures. Each tablespoon weighs 1/2 ounce.