What's the difference between dog hair and dog fur?

Fur is usually shorter and denser than hair. This is because dogs with fur have more hair follicles. Dogs with fur can also have double coats that are made up of a top coat and an undercoat. Hair, on the other hand, only has one layer and is much smoother and finer.